Crème Brûlée with caramelized blood oranges

 This special, and since recently one of my favourite desserts,  for a reason bears its title as one of complicated desserts to make. It took me two attempts to get it right. But, what made it more special for me, is that, I did it with both of my parents and it was an adventure, that I will, surely, talk about in future. Maybe, it doesn’t look like it is so complicated, because of the ingredients, but in fact, that first look was my first mistake. I bought cream made from vegetable oil (fat), instead of heavy cream made from milk, and it made my Creme brulee taste awful. It took them three days to confess it to me, that it was truly disgusting. For those experienced in the kitchen, this would be catastrophic mistake, but none of my recipes made it clear that it was supposed to be milk fat instead of vegetable. Second time I learned my lesson.

 The most wonderful taste, cold, melt-in-your-mouth layer of vanilla custard covered with crunchy caramel crust, simply majestic.


 

 /Krem brule sa karamelizovanom crvenom pomorandžom/

 Ovaj specijalni, i od skora dezert koji smatram omiljenim, s razlogom nosi titulu poslastice koja je komplikovana za pripremanje. Trebalo mi je dva pokušaja da izvedem ovaj poduhvat. Ono što ga je učinilo još specijalnijim za mene, je jer sam ga pravila zajedno sa roditeljima i to je bila avantura o kojoj ću, svakako, pričati još puno puta u budućnosti. Možda, na prvi pogled, ne izgleda tako komplikovano, zbog sastojaka, koji jesu u principu prosti i poznati, ali, u stvari, taj “prvi pogled” je bio i moja prva greška. Kupila sam slatku pavlaku od biljne masti umesto mlečne slatke pavlake, i zato je moj Krem brule je imao odvratan ukus. Tri dana im je trebalo da mi priznaju da je zaista bio loš. Za one koji su iskusni u kuhinji, ovo bi možda bila katastrofalna greška, ali ni jedan od mojih recepata nije imao naznačenu ovu razliku. Drugog puta sam naučila svoju lekciju.

 Najdivniji ukus, hladnog sloja pudinga od vanile koji se topi u ustima, prekriven hrskavom koricom od karamele, prosto veličanstveno.

Crème Brûlée with Caramelized Blood Oranges

18acc6a69be7a3cdcf484798ddeeaa95

 This recipe made me want to make more of these “pieces of heaven”, and for blood oranges part, I think they could just contribute to mixture of tastes.


 Zbog ovog recepta sam poželela da napravim još ovih “poslastica iz raja”, a što se dela sa “krvavim” pomorandžama tiče, mislim da one samo još više doprinose ovoj mešavini ukusa.

All rights are reserved for Williams-Sonoma Taste blog.

Leave a Reply

